New Zealand Muslim Awards 2019

All images below from the event are uploaded here. Please use images responsibly and download only if you have permission from us or have attended the events. 


On Saturday 14th September 2019 the Khadija Leadership Network (KLN) celebrated a talented and diverse group of Muslims for their efforts not only for the New Zealand Muslim community, but also their contributions to the wider society nationally and internationally.

The awards programme sponsored by Direct Auto & Tyre, Fin-Ex Accounting and Consultancy, and the A.J. Group attracted 45 nominations across five categories.

This year KLN also chose to acknowledge those who made a significant contribution to serving the Christchurch communities post-March 15, 2019. The nominees are judged on the positive outcomes of their contributions that advance Muslim relations, for excellence in their respective fields, demonstration of Islamic values-led leadership, and being good role models for future generations.

Tayyaba Khan, Founder & CEO of KLN said, “We are so pleased to see a significant increase in nominations and the calibre of the nominees since the inaugural awards last year. The judges were deeply moved by the immense aroha, passion and commitment with which members of the NZ Muslim community serve not only their own but the wider community.”

The awards are meant to encourage community celebration, showcase the number of initiatives within the community, and be a networking opportunity between generations, and the vastly ethnically diverse Muslim community.

The award recipients for 2019

Community Service Award Pearl of the Islands Foundation

Winner - Mr.Khalyd Baloch 

Ilm (knowledge) Award

Winner -  Mr.Mohamed Soliman 

First Runner Up - Ms.Sadia Malik 

Generosity/Philanthropy Award

Mr. Ismail Waja – Winner Ms.

Shainaz Ali – First Runner Up

Young Muslim New Zealander of the Year Award

Winner - Miss. Wid Al-Rufaie 

First Runner Up - Miss. Izilah Mohamed

Second Runner Up  - Mr. Yasir Demirbas

Muslim New Zealander of the Year Award

Winner - Mr. Asim Mukhtar

Special recognition for service to the community post-Christchurch terrorist attack

Mr.Umar Kuddus | Mr.Naveed Hamid | Mr.Bilel Ragued